Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Milkweed

This is the first year that my native Common Milkweed plants have bloomed - and they've lived up to all expectations!  Pollinators love the sweet, fragrant blossoms, and a host of insects (besides just Monarchs) enjoy the bounty that these hardy plants provide.  I was prowling around the lower garden this afternoon and snapped this with the 300 mm lens - not ideal for insects, but served me just fine in this instance.

I met up with my naturalist group today at Dark Moon Preserve, which is usually a wonderful spot for butterflies.  Unfortunately, the usual walkways through the fields hadn't been mowed so we were walking through grass that was well above out knees...and loaded with ticks.  It was also extraordinarily humid and hot, all of which made for a less-than-ideal morning.  By the time we were done, I'd pulled at least 30 ticks off my pants and my person.  YUCK.  I'm still feeling twitchy thinking about it.

Home by early afternoon for a much needed shower (and final de-ticking) before heading over for a visit with MIL.  She was in fine form today and we were laughing so hard at one point that several people came out of various rooms to find out what was going on.  I was so glad I went to visit her.

Got a new hummingbird feeder today.  I'm going through a little less than a quart of nectar a day now so the small tube feeders just don't cut it.  The hummers appear to be happy with the new purchase.

The Great Golden Digger Wasps are back this summer, finally.  Much to Hubs dismay, they are once again nesting along our back patio walkway.  I found this large female hunting for katydids in the cherry tree and snapped a few shots with the long lens.  

Speaking of Katydids, little Katy seems to have fully recovered from her adventure yesterday and she was seen happily munching on one of the day lilies this afternoon.  She's earned it.

Speaking of munching, for the first time in quite a few years, we've got rabbits in the yard.  One was on the patio tonight eating dandelions - very handy since I hadn't gotten around to pulling them.  Little bunny saved me some time.  However, I'll have to spray some of my other plants with the natural but nasty smelling stuff that supposedly repels rabbits and deer.  Don't want the bunny munching all the Phlox!

Rain in the forecast for tomorrow.  And you know I like photographing birds in the rain...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.