angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

how time flies

...it felt as though our three weeks in Lunigiana had just flown by, as we bade our sad farewells to neighbours, olive groves, and our amazing view.

Before finally driving away, I re-photographed this bristly and suitably grisly tachinid fly, which never quite made it into blipland on previous occasions because something better always came along. Even this morning I didn't expect to have to use it as I was hoping to spot something interesting on one of our stops on the way to Auxerre in Bourgogne. As far as am aware, it doesn't have a common name but I am fairly confident with my identification of Peleteria rubescens.

We decided to vary our route out of Italy and crossed the Alps through the Frejus tunnel then across to Lyon before heading up to Auxerre. We entered the tunnel under a blue sky and in hot sunshine - we exited it under a cloudy sky and a very cool temperature! As it turned out, we saw neither hide nor hair to photograph on our journey, so my fly came to the rescue...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.