Immortalised in song

Bruce Springsteen wrote Terry's song about his close friend, Terry Magovern; Leonard Cohen wrote Chelsea Hotel in memory of his brief affair with Janis Joplin; Sting wrote Englishman in New York about Quentin Crisp.

No, it's not unknown to be immortalised in a song, but it doesn't happen every day. So when fellow blipper, CleanSteve, told me that he was the man in this song, I was bowled over.

"He's good at playing frisbee, and his teeth are shining bright," sings Robyn Hitchcock. Hitchcock doesn't do him justice. Steve is a former world champion Frisbee chucker.

We had a good chat over tea at Watts Gallery, then popped over to the Watts Mortuary Chapel to take a pic or two. Steve was in the area to see a friend of the family. He knows this part of Surrey much better than me, having been brought up here.

While we chatted, two other chaps joined in and I had to pinch myself. This is about as sociable as Surrey gets - must be part of the Olympics legacy. This picture was taken about 20 yards from this spot. Sadly there were only plastic watering cans there today.

Steve very kindly gave me a copy of The Making of The English Landscape by W G Hoskins. It says that in 1500, sheep outnumbered people by three to one. I'm going to like this. Thanks Steve, I enjoyed our meet. Next time I'll bring my Frisbee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.