Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Mackerel Sky and Chips

An early phone call and it was quickly established that the tradesmen weren't going to turn up today. Apparently the new cable hadn't arrived from their suppliers. Maybe tomorrow they said. Not holding my breath!

Anyway, it gave us the excuse to head up to Glasgow for some bits and pieces we required. The second radio in as many years was returned to Braehead as it received no signal. Because the signal is poor, we have actually gone to the bother of installing an FM aerial on the roof to be plugged into the back of the radio. Only problem is nearly all radios now have useless little FM/DAB aerials with no socket for the co-axial plug. As for DAB radio, we are not on the map and unlikely to be for a few years. Ah the joys of the digital revolution, which mean we have reverted to listening to the radio on the TV, which picks up a signal by satellite!

On the way home we decided to stop off in Tarbert for a fish supper, something I am not that keen on, although it gave me an excuse to stop and maybe catch anything of the sunset! The chippy was deserted and the young girl looked worried when I asked for a fish supper. The fryer was playing up and the oil too hot for the lovely big piece of haddock she had taken from the fridge. A phone call to the owner didn't help her resolve the problem and fish was clearly off the menu for the time being at least. Had to settle for a large bag of chips which me and Mrs B got stuck into. I had just got my fingers covered in grease when I noticed the sky had changed and was displaying a marvellous mackerel pattern. Time to wipe my hands, grab the camera, and get a few blips before it melted away.

Just as well I got these shots, as by the time we got to the West Loch dark clouds had enveloped much of the sky and any chance of a sunset was gone.

Must remember to phone the builder again in the morning!

PS - Apologies if anyone else like me finds the mackerel pattern a bit sore on the eye!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.