Georgian sky

Once again, I did a how's-the-back test this afternoon. I needed to do one of my bank trips anyway, so I struggled into the car and headed for town. ACtually, the car seat proved really comfortable and gave just the right support for the silly sore back, so I survived just fine. The not-a-cloud-in-sight weather of the past several days wasn't there today, and the sun was having great fun playing with the clouds and breaking through for a bit and hiding again. It was especially spectacular as I approached the junction of Fitzwilliam Street and Baggot Street. The traffic lights fortunately changed to red, so I just had time to grab the camera and take a quick shot through the windscreen.

I remember, back in the days when I was studying architecture and there was a huge controversy about the new HQ being proposed for the Electricity Supply Board in Fitzwilliam Street. The conservationists were up in arms because the development involved demolition of a number of Georgian buildings. The debate raged on and on, and became quite heated at times. The protests got nowhere as it happened, demolition went ahead, and the new building went up. We architecture students were firmly on the side of the new build, not having much time for the shabby, run-down buildings which were under the axe. The big argument trotted out by the conservationists was about the 'vista' which the uninterrupted Georgian façades provided to the distant prospect of the Dublin Mountains. We didn't think this was much of an argument, and pointed out that the vista would still be there even with a wall of corrugated iron in place of the buildings. I still feel that long, uninterrupted rows of Georgian buildings are just plain boring. The proportions of the individual units are very pleasant and all that, but out them all together and the sum of the parts becomes less than the parts individually. Despite all that, there really was something quite nice about the prospect this afternoon.

I'd half thought of doing a blip wander when I'd finished my bank business, but I came out without money, so didn't have any coins for pay & display and didn't fancy risking an encounter with the dreaded clampers. So I got back in the car immediately and came back home to my cosy house and my Voltarol run and my Nurofen Plus tablets and my comfortable spot on the floor propped against the armchair. It's 9.50 pm now, and I can feel a real improvement in the back situation. With any luck I'll be well on the med in the morning. I hope so, since I need to do some serious cleaning and tidying in preparation for the arrival of the Music Group, since it's my turn to host tomorrow. Fingers crossed I'll survive okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.