Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Seed cracking demo

Cardinal: See, this is how you do it...get the seed in your beak and just crack it. Simple
Grosbeak teen (whining): No! I want shelled seeds. Tell the human, okay?
Cardinal: Listen buster, just eat the damned seeds. Honestly, you grosbeak kids are so damned spoiled!

Actually it didn't go like that at all. The rose-breasted youngster was hogging the feeder when Mrs. Cardinal (on the left) showed up. A bird version of a slapping match ensued where they both pecked at each other. Finally, both retreated to opposite sides of the feeder. The house finches ignored the entire ugly episode, pretending that they didn't see a thing. The chickadees and titmice immediately started telling everyone else, embellishing the story with each telling. One of the mourning doves fainted (they are such pansies, need to toughen up a bit). And there you have it - the afternoon on Tallyho.

I actually took a few hours away from the office to walk some of the trails at Kittatinny and along the way came across what I believe were some juvenile black vultures who were kind enough pose for me. I was going to blip this one, but decided on the grosbeak since it's a migratory bird, just passing through, and I may not get another chance.

I may undertake another finch rescue - I've seen another one with eye disease and I seem to be able to get pretty close to it, so if I can grab it tomorrow, I'll load it up and take it to the avian rehab center. Maybe it could keep Hope company... Do you think I am turning into a crazy bird woman?????

Thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterday's redstart. I am hoping to spot a few more warblers in the next week or so - I've got a list of which ones are migrating through our area now, so am keeping eyes peeled.

Happy Hump Day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.