Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Get away from me, you beast!

This fascinated me, so it had to be blipped. The focused cabbage white on the right is a female and if you look LARGE you will see that her abdomen is extended and curled over her back, displaying it's green end. The male (flying out of the frame) tried several times to land on her, and each time she rebuffed him. She does this by raising her abdomen, as pictured here. Which is something I didn't know until I Googled it today. So there you have it, a lesson in cabbage white butterfly behavior! Or, in other words, a bad day at the singles bar for Mr. Cabbage White.

I thought I was feeling better when I woke up this morning ... so I got up, worked for several hours and even went out back in the garden with the camera for awhile. And then my body rebelled. Back to bed for a quick nap, then up again. Will get to bed early tonight and am DETERMINED to feel better tomorrow! And I apologize for being so tardy with replies and comments.

Had one female hummer at the feeders today - probably a migrant stopping to refuel on her way through. She seemed more skittish of me than "my" summer hummers. Be interesting to see if she is here tomorrow. If you'd like to see shots of her, a "rare" blue vulture and a sneaky katydid, four shots are posted on Flickr, starting HERE.

I'm taking my tissues and going to bed now...

ciao
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.