My Summer Garden

Dear Diary,

The garden has entered its period of abundant summer bloom.  The rubeckia are enormous this year and, like the iris, they have taken over a bit St Francis is completely obscured now.  Such enthusiasm for their short life; I admire their tenacity.  It is a good thing that Matt will be coming on Tuesday to help me bring a bit of order to the garden.

I continue to enjoy my e-class on memory and I'm developing a new appreciation for how complex it can be.  It is also making it more clear how we can have differing memories of the same event.  It has reinforced for me the importance of memory in our lives, all memory, even the painful ones.

The scrapbook is on hold today as I am off to the Shaker village this afternoon for a class in book binding.  I have done lots of book binding in the past but I am sure I will learn something new, I always do.  Besides, I adore the village and there is always a fun group gathered in the Sister's Laundry Room, where we meet for the class.  You can almost hear the distant voices of the Shaker sisters singing while they worked there 100 years ago.  So full of positive energy, I love being there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.