Plant it and they will come...

Dear Diary,

The Bee Balm is blooming and it is like a pink magnet for bees and butterflies.  I really must plant more of this not only for the bees and butterflies but for the color contrast with all the yellow and orange in the garden at this time of year.  This is a Silver Bordered Fritillery, one of the most common butterflies in my garden.  I just love it's spiral proboscis! 

Luckily, I plant only drought tolerant varieties in the garden.  It has been a terribly dry summer so far and it is starting to show.  My plants are suffering but still valiantly putting on a show.  Hope we, and they, get some relief soon.

Update:  I did a little research on the Moravian Church on St John  from yesterday's post and found out that, miraculously, the bell tower survived.  The roof is gone and the interior destroyed but the walls are standing and there is hope that it can be rebuilt in time if it survives this season's hurricanes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.