The Swamp

Although you're a magical dwelling
With countless wonders to behold
Some only see with blinded eyes
Never finding secret treasures you hold
Some consumed with a dark dampened world
Discerning eyes see past this outer disguise
Your vast array of of world within world
Remain forever absent from naive eyes
Your majestic fortress of dead and alive
include bird, frog, insect, moss and tree
the list of blessings never cease to amaze
and you humbly offer it to us for free
The rythmic sounds of croaking toads...
The sad love song of the whippoorwill ...
The unique smells of your sanctuary...
Make me yearn to be part of you
The gentle breeze through my window
whispers softly, "believe in me"
Lightly caressing my cheek
Like the comforting touch of a Mother's hand
Others may see you as just a Swamp
But you are my heaven behind the house

© 2010 Linda Rogers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.