Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An amazing day in Krakow

I am full of enthusiasm for this amazing place and wish we had longer to be here.

Breakfast was excellent, so I can wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Maksymillian. It is also only 5 minutes walk from the Main Square.

I had a slow start and met Catriona and Kevin on my way out. We walked to the Tourist Information office where the assistant was very helpful. We decided to book an evening meal with traditional music and dancing. We also agreed to meet later to go on a walking tour of the Jewish Quarter.

The tour guide on this free tour was superb. The 2.5 hours passed quickly and I am now much more knowledgeable than I was about the history of the Jews in Poland. The fact that so many went directly to the death camps is why there are so few survivor accounts. Terrifying beyond words.

We ended at Schindler's factory and took a tram to our hotel.

The city is buzzing with young people. It is very clean. There is music at every turn.

Tonight we were treated to a very tasty traditional meal and heard and saw wonderful musicians and dancers. I can't upload the photos from the Sony for some reason, but this image, from my Lumix would always be my blip. Kevin was asked to join the dancing and he entered fully into the spirit of the occasion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.