But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Letter Box.

Having recently had the front door painted, and then purchased a new letter box, today, the two were joined together. It was a difficult assignment. The door already had a slot and two fixing holes but, the holes were not far enough apart but too close to the required position to allow drilling new holes; similarly, the slot was too small but not so much  so that I could enlarge it with a saw. I ended up having to use a round bastard to turn the circular holes into slots and a flat bastard to enlarge the main slot. As an aside, I love the expression “half-round bastard” so it was something of a pity that I didn’t need to use one.
 
It turned out to be tedious and hard work so I did hope Mrs TD would vacuum up all the sawdust and polish off the finger prints for the Blip but, surprisingly, she refused; I wonder what I did wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.