The most westerley

- place on the British mainland is Ardnamurchan Point. Many years ago I went scuba diving off the point and thought I really should visit the lighthouse here  so that I could say I had visited the depths and heights of this westerly point. 
We were pleased to find we could climb the lighthouse for a talk. Just 150 steps to the most amazing views. Shame the sun was not out. After driving for hours along the narrow,  undulating little track with passing places the tea shop and museum are a welcome reward for the effort. 
Had a bit of an argument with J, who was sure Land's End was further west.  Perhaps the way the UK is printed on a map page makes Lands End look further west but I can confirm that Ardnamurchan point is  6 deg west . Lands end is 5 deg west. 
Also in the photo is the most westerly geocache on the mainland - its the plastic box retrieved from the  small cave below
Yesterdays photo is here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.