Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Female Black Darter

Another one for #Dragonfly Week.
Popped out for a couple of hours around lunchtime - just up the road to Risley Moss. The pond had a various array of damselflies - azure, blue tailed, large red and even emerald, which are not so common.
But my blip today is what I think is a female Black Darter.

I have also put in extras what I think is a dragonfly nymph. I was reading up on this and apparently they spend 95% of their life in water and then climb out when they are ready to emerge into dragonflies. Looks like this one is not that far off......but boy is it ugly!
I didn't realise what they were until I got home and zoomed in and then started my google search. Maybe I need to go back again tomorrow and  see if they are still there or wait a bit longer to see if there are any that are about to emerge completely?


Hope we have another nice day tomorrow. I'm loving this flexible working from home - but only one more week.....back to travelling again on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.