Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Brockholes

What a cracker of a day!
Started out with miserable drizzle, but then cleared up beautifully and I took in another longer visit to Brockholes.
I met a delightful young lady who ended up giving me a personal guided tour of the reserve. She lived about 10 minutes away so visits regularly and knew all the good spots :)
Had I arrived an hour earlier, I too would have seen the 5 or 6 brown hares That were present on the car park and been able to blip one. Great to know that they are around though, as they are on my list to see.
Whilst we were sitting in one of the hides chatting, a roe deer ran past, far too close for a shot and too fast for either of us anyway!
And Emma showed me some videos of bank voles and a shrew that she had taken earlier in the year, so definitely a great place to visit.
The warm sunshine brought out the dragonflies and tons of damselflies which I love seeing. I think that this one could be an Emperor dragonfly - it was certainly big enough.  It's not quite as sharp as I'd like, but as it's the first time I've seen one, it would be rude not to post it!

I also saw loads of butterflies and a couple of gorgeous fluffy little ducklings(extras).

I missed the excitement of the Grand Prix and most of the men's final at Wimbledon, but did get to my mum and dad's in time to have a lovely roast dinner!

So all in all, a fabulous day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.