Border Tails

By Swannie

Scott's View (again).

Like Sir Walter Scott, I don't think I will ever get tired of this view although a photo never really does it justice, it has to be seen to be appreciated. I noticed, when I uploaded the photo from my iPhone that the moon is visible too.

I had my busiest day yet on 'Big Red" with nineteen passengers and only nine minutes of the whole day with nobody on board. Unfortunately, as I was going past a parked Transit flatbed, for the third time, which belonged to a firm who had been erecting scaffolding all day at a small cottage near Dryburgh, on a blind bend, a parcel delivery van came stooring down the hill. We both stopped, I was going slowly so it wasn't difficult, he stopped too - with a screech of brakes and a small skid, and after a few seconds of stalemate, he reversed back up the hill and I proceeded to slowly get past the parked vehicle.

I then saw the van starting to roll forward, so was keeping my eye on him, and trying to squeeze through the ever decreasing gap, all the time attempting to continue entertaining the passengers with my story of the ghost of Dryburgh Abbey and didn't notice my near side scraping along the back corner of the flatbed.

I stopped as soon as I got safely past but the lad from the scaffolding company showed me the corner of his vehicle, which was clad in protective metal of some sort, and had very little damage. "I'll give it a wee knock with a hammer, love, no harm done, it was the van's fault." Unfortunately, three panels on the bus are scraped/dented.

When I stopped at Scott's View a wee while later, a passenger handed me his business card and said "That wasn't your fault, here's my details if your boss wants to phone me". I did phone Tony at the depot and he waited for me to get in at six o'clock, but he says it's not that bad, just a scrape. I have an incident form to fill in, but I'll tackle that in the morning.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.