Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Ghosts at Morning Prayer

These choir stalls in the Cathedral of The Isles are peopled by the ghosts of our younger selves - me on my 28th birthday; Mr B, a little older and a 'cradle piskie '; the Lay Chaplain of the Cathedral, a year younger than me and only recently confirmed. Then, as now, we sing together. On the day in question we are singing Byrd's Mass for Three Voices at my Confirmation service. I am sitting in that front stall; there are, quite by chance, 28 candles lit in the choir. The Bishop of Argyll and The Isles is Richard Knyvet Wimbush, and it was he who gave me my first confirmation lesson.

We're still here, still singing, with the ghosts of our young selves echoing faintly in the rafters...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.