Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pollinator Week #1

I have decided to challenge myself to blip various pollinators for the next week.  Not much of a challenge, admittedly, since all three of my pollinator gardens are blooming along with the buddliea, and pollinators are showing up in good numbers.  Still, it will be a fun little challenge for me.  I'll tag them all PW2017 - feel free to join in if you feel like it.

Today's pollinator is a Painted Lady.  I debated between this view and a side view but decided I like this one as it showed the beautiful colors of the wings.  I'll pop a shot showing the ventral view in Extra.

I had a nice long chat with Mom and Dad this morning and then Hubs and I went out on a lunch date - spontaneous, and very fun.  I did some digging in the garden - some nasty invasive plants had taken root in my new garden so I needed to dig them up and get rid of them.  Deep roots so shovel was required - not fun, but satisfying when the job was finished.  

I think the wrens may fledge tomorrow.  Mama was feeding them with intermittent help from Papa, and in between meals, I was seeing little heads poking out of the box.  Lots of excited chattering coming from inside the box whenever a tasty insect/spider is delivered.

I put a couple of extra photos on Flickr if you'd care to have a look:
Monotone Hummingbird in mid-flight
Super-fuzzy bumble bee - not sure of the species but will try to find out.

Thanks for sending yesterday's hummingbird moth to the Pops page - what a nice surprise!  There were at least a dozen in the garden today, both kinds.  I wish it could be summer forever!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.