Silver- washed

Getting out of the car with the dogs on the hugely busy A436 and into another  wood, which proved to be quite lonely as there was no-one for miles, was tricky. 

I had bought a leaflet last week of walks for my butterfly quest and this was my first sortie into it. On the hunt for the Silver-washed Fritillary we  headed on down an incredibly steep slope for what seemed like an eternity then whilst standing in a clearing with the sun filtering through the trees I saw Fritillaries flying. 

Scrambling into the undergrowth over the brambles I tried to get close but they flitted away to and fro over the ground cover. Surreptitiously sneaking closer for any sort of shot was tricky; I was there ages, with the dogs being terribly patient with me just looking from the pathway. I had no idea at this point if this was the one I was after but looking at the shots on the computer I think I got it!

Windows are now coming out of the house at a pace and new ones in over the next 7 days so keeping the coffee and tea mugs well topped up especially as the guys had asked if I had taken the 'wonderful' kingfisher shot on the lounge wall as they had seen the tripod mounted camera. LOL!! 'Okaaay', you are thinking, they know how to get round women of a certain age!  Anything for a cuppa! ;)  Fingers crossed now for decent weather all this week! Think the roof will be off next week all being well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.