Barbie Girl

'Oh thank goodness!! I thought you were dead!' he said walking down the path on the Malvern Hills where I lay sprawling full length, trying to get to eye level with my quarry, the rare Grayling butterfly, on the floor. This was no time to be prissy! Perched here provocatively on my trainer ( yes they really are that colour!) it liked my jeans, shirt and head. Dead tired - yup as I'd been on the go all day starting with my first session with a PT in the gym. Dead chuffed oh yes. Dead lucky for sure as I was on my way back down the climb with nothing at all which is unusual for me despite the help from a local conservationist who walked back up the slope to flush one out for me very unsuccessfully unfortunately.

I must have seemed to say the least odd as I rolled on the stoney, dry and dusty path at the top of the hill trying to get the shot of this very rare butterfly here. Today the Grayling has almost disappeared on the chalk and limestone downs, normally found on the coast but conservators and volunteers have been hard at work on the habitat and so the population is increasing, reversing the trend here a few years ago. Catching sight of it settling on the path Poppy was under strict instruction to stay back but I needn't have bothered as it settled briefly on her back then her nose narrowly escaping the jaws which was the shot I really messed up - see Extra - as I wasn't expecting that! Got to say I was absolutely ecstatic  to see this!!!!

Coming down the hill I went a real purler on the gravely path saved only by my t-shirt being quite thick at the elbow. Frankly I was far more worried about the camera but no harm done. I haven't got as down and dirty for quite a while - just covered head to foot in dust! A more stoney Grayling in Extra 2 which is more it's habitat. 

Our bedroom window is now in - excellent and #1 son has manned the fort this afternoon for me. He's a lovely lad :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.