Cane Fire

This is a very familiar scene around Bundaberg at the moment and boy do these fires make a mess. There was ash all over the ground this morning and this afternoon I noticed the plumes of smoke as I was driving home. This particular fire was really close to the road just as I turned into the road home. Not all cane farmers use this method any more and quite often they just cut the cane as it stands. I always thought they burnt the cane to get rid of any nasties like snakes, mice and cane toads etc.

It's quite obvious from this image that the weather today is absolutely spectacular. A balmy 26 degrees at 1.00pm and it's still over 20 degrees at 5.30. Winter in Bundaberg is so different to summer. I really can't tolerate the humidity in summer but today it's glorious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.