Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Last Day of Summer

a single bell tolls
for the last day of summer
see the heather fade


I've had the luxury of being able to take the day off for my birthday. It would have been nice to have yesterday's weather, but I managed to get a couple of hours out on the moor to enjoy the last day of summer.

Another candle lit on the great cake of life.

Postscript: I'm aware that today wasn't the astronomical last day of summer, which varies a little each year according to the September equinox. I'm referring to the last day of summer that habitually is written into British calendars, and which is what I was brought up with in school. In this, Spring begins on March 21, Summer on June 21, Autumn on September 21 and Winter on December 21. So for me, September 20 is always the last day of summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.