Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

It doesn't get much better

.. than this!  Honestly, I don't know why the weather people are so gloomy, I thought it would be cloudy all day but it's been just glorious!  And very hot.  I'm fried meat.

So I went for a walk on Morn Hill this morning.  Instead of all the pink and yellow vetches of earlier in the summer, now it is mostly mauves and purples: this dark knapweed, pale lavender-coloured scabious, more marjoram than I've ever seen in my life, a very pretty blue cranesbill, together with little yellow squiggles of lady's bedstraw and tall grasses already browned.  Further off the reserve the barley's looking very ripe too.  I like this shot best because of the movement in the grasses, but in extras you can see just how wonderful the long views were too (I just turned round and blipped the other way).

I shall have to go back for the butterflies and on a very still day.  It's always breezy up here and today the air was being pushed around by the coming storm, which I think will crash over us tonight.  No watering the garden.  Good.

Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.