Westport Beach

23.5C with sunny sunshine all day long. Moderate ESE/E/SE/SSE breeze.

Apothecary7's day off. We went to Glenbarr in plenty of time for tea before "Art in the Hothouse ". Once Apothecary7 had gone inside with her art materials and I was heading to Westport beach I remembered I had left my Chromebook plugged in and charging. I went back home to sort that out and decided I should go across to the library to see if I was on the right track in my research on the second manager of The Picture House.

A librarian fetched me out one of the big hardcopy bound books of two years of The Campbeltown Courier, since this was a period which has not been microfilmed, and I soon had the death notice and obituary for the person that my detective work had suggested was the manager. I read through the column and yes, I had the right person. I took some photographs so I can transcribe the article and the death notice. I can now finish my research on him and write his biography tomorrow. I'll have the time since rain is forecast. While I had my camera I went through quite a few pages of the newspapers and got pictures of several adverts for the movies on show at The Picture House and at The Rex. Some of the Rex adverts had movie star photos, so that's a bonus.

Then I went to Westport beach and had a very long walk. There were some people on the beach but walking a couple of hundred yards leaves them all behind in the corner near the car park where they seem to gather and as usual miles of sandy beach was all mine. There were a few gulls and some Oystercatchers, and out beyond the surf there was the occasional diving Gannet. Good waves today. Some really big ones rising up like white topped green luminous curtains before breaking into the blue and running up the sand.

I went back to Glenbarr for 1.30pm. On the way I stopped at the farm stall at Bellochantuy for eggs and I bought two Gingerbread people. Apothecary7 and I had planned to stay for lunch at Glenbarr but they were setting up to cater lunch for a funeral so we came home instead.

On the Clip while walking along the sand:
Runrig. Mara. Amazing Things.

Later Apothecary7 made a couple of finishing touches to her painting of Nasturtiums from the hothouse and then did some work on a new painting.

Afternoon music ... Van Morrison.

We have eaten the Gingerbread people.

E-PL5 f/11 1/640 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.