Great find!

They are getting ready to build on what was an arable field by my Mum, and when I passed it today I decided to have a look and photograph the wild flowers growing there before it is just another housing estate!
Well i am so glad I did because among the Scarlet pimpernel, Scentless may weed, Great willow herb, Various Dock and Thistle species was this amazing little Gem!!!
This is Sharp-leaved Fluellen Kikxia elatine, an attractive annual weed of arable land and cultivated places. Although considered a weed it is listed as local, found mostly in the south.
It can be separated from the very similar Round-leaved Fluellen, by it's attractive arrow shaped leaves, and I simply love the yellow and purple lipped flowers. The plant is sprawling in nature and quite small and delicate, so you need 'Eagle eyes' to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.