This morning...

...got a text from the doctor's surgery saying I had an infection and I needed antibiotics...so instead of staying in this boiling hot day, I had to go out and collect the prescription.

When I got back I was rather tired so settled down in bed with a cuppa, and looked for classical music on the phone to practice listening to with this mapping, but I got sidetracked as you do when online searching and watched some You Tube and Ted Talks, and I googled something, I cannot recall what, but I came across Oskar Fischinger with 'An Optical Poem' (1938).

He was the precursor of current day colour digital graphics with music. He did it the long way in 1938, hanging each colour shape from the ceiling with string and taking each photograph frame by frame...

He did this to Frank Liszt's '2nd Hungarian Rhapsody', in 'An Optical Poem'.

Now, there is no way with this mapping on my cochlear processor could I listen to a piece of classical music on its own like this. It is just too much, with so much different stuff going on in the music. It is too confusing and just does not move me in any way shape or form...

But in this film, it does. And that is because Oskar Fischinger has married it very cleverly with appropriate shapes and more...there is no way I can explain how he did. There is a better explanation at the beginning of the film how he did this. So, here is a link to the film. It is about 7 minutes long.

https://youtu.be/they7m6YePo

There is other more modern digital colour work to music, but nothing I have seen yet works for me as a deaf person, in the way this 1938 film does.

He appears to have done some more of these effects to classical music, but I can only find tiny Vimeo clips. It seems I will need to buy a CD.

Here is an encaustic painting for today, for my pic every day challenge to myself in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.