Roses past their best

A photograph of three roses (part of a bigger bunch) a little past their best might be thought to indicate a blip of desperation. No, not really. I've had the roses since last weekend - going cheap as they were on their sell by date - and I've photographed them several times as they drift bit by bit into seediness. They've been a very colourful addition to our coffee table during this week, and have been today especially since it was grimly grey most of the day, and there has been a haar hanging since around 4pm. We are still waiting, however, for the promised rain.

Into work by bike to chair a seminar - my last ever at the Institute - but most of the day has been spent just clearing a backlog which accumulated at the beginning of the week, including various slightly overdue peer review jobs. Tomorrow I want to do some writing and finalise a piece that has been hanging over me for a few weeks, and which was due today, I think.

Meanwhile, I keep doing interminable lists of life laundry bits and pieces that need sorting out before Helsinki. Appointments are being made and will be kept. Various authorities and agencies are being phoned and contacted. Some necessary objects are being procured. There's a lot of preparation involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.