lovelife209

By mindful_life

Beautiful canal

Today has been a busy day, preparing for a camping trip this weekend which I am really excited about, and also running around getting end of year presents for school teachers!

Firstly I had to pop to Next to get my daughter some sandals (not for camping) and I started chatting to the young lady at the till. I am consciously trying to do this more because when I read my mindfulness book it recommended doing so and since I have been I have ended up having some lovely conversations! This particular girl asked if I was going on holiday and when I returned the question she told me she was getting ready to go to university. She is going to study animal behaviour/psychology which led on to a chat about my son's love of animals! She told me about taxonomy, which is the study of animal categorisation- I had never heard of this!!

Anyway... next I took a trip to the supermarket to buy camping food and I decided while I was there that I would have a good look at the canal that runs beside it. I have been to that particular supermarket many times but never really looked at it. I noticed there was a boat on it and thought it a nice opportunity for a blip. I read about the canal whilst there (and enjoyed a cup of coffee too sat outside just watching) and learned that the canal was completed in 1810! It was used in the 1830 to transport materials to be the Great Western Railways but sadly once the railways were up and running the trade and use of the canal declined over the years until 1914 when it was completely deteriorated and neglected.

Fortunately in recent years a Canal Trust formed made up of volunteers who are now working to restore the waterway as a recreational resource and wildlife corridor. They run boat trips on this boat to raise money! Thank goodness for people like this as it really is attractive!!

Over the summer I may just book a trip with my children as I am sure they will enjoy it and it is certainly for a good cause!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.