Containers 2017

I've planted containers on the patio every year since I returned from the Gulf in 2000. Latterly, I let Len do the planting. He tends to get in there first anyway.

Petunias are a huge favourite. They were the flower of the winter in Oman, planted in all the municipal gardens. When I used to go for a walk on the beach and park on Embassy Row, the scent was heavenly.

I bought the plants from Thornton Nursery this year and they have turned out wonderfully. I love the velvety, almost black flowers. The trailing plants have been magnificent.

The day started with a trip to see the doctor. He was very sympathetic about my knee, but still had to give me a questionnaire to fill in which he had to score in order to assess my need for a knee replacement. He said the job had changed a great deal in the 19 years since he'd started work. Not difficult to work out that forms and bureaucracy had been introduced to supercede his medical judgement.

He will be referring me to a consultant for an operation. Perhaps I'll get the appointment in four months time.

Overcast and warm today. Storms bypassed us but never materialised overhead.

I cooked Joy's giant courgette in a sort of casserole with mushrooms, onions and tomatoes with a blanket of cheese sauce, flavour enhanced with a touch of basalmic vinegar. I enjoyed it.

I also sent off the notes for the research I'd been doing for Leela this week. Glad to get it done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.