Bagan 1

Today, the day began sunny, at about 30 degrees.  We were picked up at 08.30 with bicycles for hubby and me.  Our guide had her own bike, too. You can see the bikes in one of the extras.  The one they got me at first was still too large for me so we all had to go to the bike rental to get a smaller one, which reminded me of the one I used to practice with when I was about 15.  Anyway, we ended up starting out at 09.00, and we went from pagoda to pagoda this way.  Every once in a while I would stop to take a shot.  The guide, though, concentrated on what appear to be the three most important ones -- the Ananda Temple, the Shwesandaw Pagoda, and the Dhammayan Temple.  She really took the trouble to explain the history, art, and architecture of each one, and suggested items for me to shoot.  This took the largest part of the day.  The main shot was taken close to the top of the Shwesandaw Pagoda, after a very steep climb.

At about 15.00, we were back at the hotel for a rest, during which hubby was able to cool off at the pool while I worked on the pictures.  At 16.45, we were off again, on foot this time, to a lacquer workshop and souvenir shop.  We didn't buy anything but just said we'd think about it, which is typically Dutch.  There were some lovely items there, to be sure.

The other extra shows someone taking their horse for a walk.

By early evening, there was a very slight drizzle.  Dinner at the hotel and a bit of TV ended our day.  We are satisfied at the way our trip is going, so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.