The second half of life..

By twigs

Beach Boys

To town today to drop off my old Dyson vacuum at the fixits - the same fixits I dropped my new - second hand! - one off yesterday.  Why?  Well, my new one has been great but the front brush-bar stopped rotating so isn't picking up as well as it should.  I dismantled and checked as much as a I could myself but came to the conclusion that it was an electrical fault, hence the need for an expert.  

Whilst I was talking to the fixits yesterday I asked whether they had any use for my old one - maybe for parts (it's actually quite old and I know they no longer make parts for it)?  The lovely guy in the shop (which itself could be an intriguing photo story!) looked amazed........it turns out that not half an hour beforehand, another customer, an elderly gentleman, had been on the phone to him asking if he could fix his old Dyson.......which just happened to be exactly the same model as mine!  Seredipity.  I love that!

So today, I took my old machine in to him.  I see it a bit like organ donation - it can be used for parts or maybe the elderly gentleman will just take the part he needs and do his fix himself.  Either way, I'm happy that my old machine will help to save the lives of other elderly Dysons in the region!

On the way home I'd planned to drop in to the back beach for a walk and a  bit of dog-shooting.  It's been sooooooo long since I've walked that beach.........amazing to see how much things have changed.  Moving sands and all that.  The storm that is sweeping the country at the moment (hang in there Rainie!) hasn't come to much here in terms of rain, but the wind was howling and it was a pretty cold wind too.  Not surprisingly , not too many dogs out being walked, but the few that were there didn't seem to mind having the camera trained on them.

I coudn't resist putting these 3 together, although they are actually the same dog!  Super cute and totally unfazed by ears blowing in all directions and sand being blown into nose, eyes and mouth.  The simple pleasure of a walk eh?  :)

And I thoroughly enjoyed my walk too, despite returning with earache from the wind.  My knees have been a bit sore this week too for some reason and it was good to give them a bit of a workout in the soft sand.  Still feels a bit sore this evening but definitley better for the exercise :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.