Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Third time unlucky - Painted Lady

Well, would you believe it.  First, early summer, my camera has to go off for a month to be mended, then my computer gives up the ghost and has to be replaced, now the Gas guys working outside have cut through my and my neighbour's phone/internet lines.  So that's why I didn't post last night.  It may be a few days before I'm back online.  The gas guys are wonderful (apart from the obvious) but BT is more useless than words can describe!  I'm currently in the Library using one of theirs.  I will try to continue doing this.  I will also try to continue commenting this way, also hearting and starring, though it may all be a bit scrappy.  Not sure if I will be able to do this on Sunday.  Arrrggggghhhhhh!

But butterflies.  I said I would try and blip as many different types of butterfly as I could this summer as we had so many round here.  Then instantly we had that storm and I thought they might all be gone.  But to my astonishment, yesterday when the sun came out, there they all were again - in the garden I saw the large white, the red admiral's still zooming about and at least one of the pair of browns was back on the lavender.

This is a painted lady I saw on a teasel during my walk on Barton Farm.  Isn't she rather beautiful?  And excitingly yesterday I picked up my new field guide to British butterflies.  Having had a couple of my IDs - erm - finessed by two very kind blippers I realised I badly needed a better source of identification.  For some odd reason the book is published by Princeton, but it is thoroughly comprehensive and the photos are brilliant.  Something to aim for!

So that's me for now.  Hope the end of your week's going well and you have a great weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.