View from the Campsite

This photo was taken just before 8pm. 
A few minutes after we arrived at the campsite in Southwold!
I had had grand plans of arriving mid afternoon and getting the tent all set up before a stroll along the beach. Ha ha ha!!!!
Mr K's work overran so we didn't leave until nearly 3pm, then we had to go to Go Outdoors in Milton Keynes to buy camp beds (because they're better from outdoor shops than well known stationers at motorway service stations!) and sleeping bags because our big double one has inexplicably disappeared.
And then I had to run over to Pets at Home to buy a lead for Archie because we'd forgotten his. There was a leather one on the sale rail without a price and when I took it up to the cash desk I was chuffed to discover it was £1. That never happens to me!!
Then I found the original lead down the side of my seat in the car.
Which always happens to me!!!
A bit more faffing about and a stop for something to eat and we eventually made it to Southwold. 
Before dark, woohoo!!
The tent went up without too much drama although Archie was less than impressed about being tethered to the tow bar while we faffed about in a field with poles and a weird big green flappy room!! (See extras)
While Mr K and I were setting up, the Little Misses made friends with Miss R who had also just arrived. In that fabulous way that kids have they were instantly best friends making hedgehog shelters, bug hunting, climbing trees and running in and out of each other's tents. It was so lovely to see. They don't often get to experience freedom!!
Even better, once it was completely dark Miss R's dad asked if we'd like to go to the beach with them. The Little Misses didn't need asking twice!!! Armed with torches we set off over the sand dunes to the beach. It was brilliant being on the beach at night - hearing the waves, seeing the light from the lighthouse sweep around and seeing all the torches in the dark. The Little Misses loved it! (See extras)
Archie wasn't so sure! He kept barking at people who were obviously making him jump, creeping around in the dark!!
Eventually it was time to head back to bed. No hot water bottle for me as the gas ran out earlier as soon as Mr K turned on the stove.
So no cups of tea, hot chocolate or dinner either. Should have bought gas at Go Outdoors. Sigh!!!
So I snuggled down in my new sleeping bag on my comfy new camping bed and went to sleep.
Fab holiday so far!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.