Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Busy day - new Toy

Today I had to go to Glasgow for various errands( I usually save them up so I do as much as I can on one visit )

First errand ; I had booked myself into the Heritage Hotel which I found on line last week, extremely reasonable and seemed close enough to Glasgow University where we are having a reunion next Thursday. As I will be travelling on the bus and getting in after dark I really wanted to find the place in daylight beforehand. Just as well as the on line directions didn't work and I wandered around in circles in the pouring rain trying to find the place. Eventually some helpful workmen directed me, strangest way in I have ever seen. Up Cecil Street for about 20 yards , imediate left and across a parking area round to the fornt of the buildings and there it was on a raised area above the Great Western Road shops. I would never have found it , so thankyou Glasgow workmen. Looks very good for £ 40 for the singlre room and breakfast! Will let you know how it is after next week. very helpful staff in reception as well.

Various other errands included changing a Jacobite kilt shirt we had bought for our grandson , I had reckoned he would prefer the trendy black one , John reckoned on the white one, John was right. had a lovely long blether with the man in the shop, turned out we had moved in the same circles over the years without knowing it. he had been in the Michael Caine film "Bull's Eye " some of which had been filmed at Inveraray , and I had been there supervising the children from the school wo also had bit parts in the film. I wasn't in the film as Michael Winner the famous director had yelled across the filed ordering the " lady in the red coat to either move to the right to be in the film or b...... well move to the left and get out of the corner of the film ! " Needless to say I moved to the left to show him I wasn't starstruck!!

Lots of other things done but still had over an hour to spare and the rain was still bucketing down so I just had to go in to the camera shop and have another look at the smaller cameras I have been researching both on line and on blipfoto. End result I now have a lighter and smaller camera to take away with me to the football holidays which are coming up soon. So fed up with the hastle of tryng to sneak my DSLR in to the big games. Had a wee play around with it tonight . First image is a macro of a flower. Will see how it performs tomorrow in deifferent settings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.