Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

High Street

Blipped on 21/7/17

Well. Here I am... in Sunny England!! We had quite the journey. Landed at Gatwick at 1am in the morning (I never knew Gatwick was a 24 hour airport). More long queues for Immigration, but this time, with very weary travellers.

I don't know about you, and I might risk offending someone here, but don't you find the most bizarrely dressed people at airports?? It was bad enough in Cyprus being a beach holiday destination, and one young man in particular found it appropriate to board a plane without a shirt on, but tonight, in the wee hours of the morning, I saw a lady wearing a swim suit. Really. Not a bikini, but a one piece swimsuit. And there's me... always in long trousers and closed shoes when travelling; preferably in a top with a collar.

Anyway, coming back to Gatwick being a 24 hour airport, the car hire desk haven't caught up with that fact. It took us a while to find the place, then we had to wait for someone to show up behind the counter! It took almost an hour there, and the young man (Josh) reckoned that the luggage we had would not fit into the car category we had booked (Fiat 500!!), so he gave us the best deal within his power for an upgrade.

Got to the Lodge around 4am, just as it was beginning to get light again. Very helpful, as G had to go round the back and switch the water on. :) I noticed the boiler had a fault on it, preventing it from giving hot water, so stayed up to fix that before I finally put my head down.

The nicest thing about being here?? Cooler temps! We are better off by 20degC I think! :D  We made it to T@3 at the URC church we found last summer. They remembered we were coming and gave us a big welcome. We then popped into the High Street to sort out G's phone connection and check on data deals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.