Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Wild Wednesday: Beach Toys at Kiti Kiosk

Blipped on 20/7/17.

Another late entry for Cailleach's #WildWed67...

This kiosk is on the way to Kiti and I just LOVE the toys that this guy's got. I have honestly never seen the beach toys that he has - I mean - a pizza slice??!! Who thinks of these things??! I hope you can see the smiley, the turtle, the dolphin, the pineapple, the donut and the stingray amongst other unique ones!

So, today, despite desperately wanting a quieter day that didn't involve a trip (or trips) to Larnaca, we had to do just that. The lampshades are all the wrong type - for a bedside lamp rather than ceiling lights, and all the energy saving bulbs need to be changed as the fittings in the flat are bayonets. ARGH. It's a good thing we stayed up last night and did quite a bit of packing and tidying up.

I woke up really early to get some ironing out of the way. We then went into Larnaca - to return all the lampshades and buy bayonet-screw adaptors. Clever things they are as now, one can never buy the wrong light bulb!

Mr Bricolage didn't have anything we could use for lampshades, but fortunately, another DIY store nearby did. What a relief. They were cheaper too and cleverly designed to be used for either bedside table or ceiling fitting! All done in less than 45 minutes, so we could head back with the last things that were required to finish.

I had by this time, managed to secure the services of a plumber for some work that we want done in our own flat i.e. a new shower fitting and a hand spray. Paul came pretty much at the time he said he would, and to my delight, did the two biggest jobs I wanted in an hour. So happy! I have booked him for the last day of August to finish off the other bits.

Meanwhile, Simon had another crisis... the curtains are still too long. The seamstress didn't measure properly, so G raced back and waited while they got shortened to the correct length. And it was mega stressful and didn't look like it could happen, but Simon, Adam and the cleaner were all done by 5pm. It gave us an hour to put the last bits in place and take the all important pictures for the Client, before we settled up and left for the airport. Made it just in time to return the car and to the check-in counter.

My last airport experience being so awful, I was wary of the weight of my bag as I didn't have scales to check it, but hugely pleased that G's case was well under, and I was only half a kilogram over. The lady didn't say a thing, in fact, she asked if we wanted to put one of our trolley bags in the hold for free. I must remember to pack in a way that I can take up that offer, should I ever have the option again. Monarch Airlines... a charter flight - first time ever for me!

Larnaca airport was ultra busy. It seems like everyone wanted to get off the island at the same time on the same day. It took over thirty minutes to get to security. We had just enough time to grab something to eat, sit quietly and eat it, and then board... and I am so thrilled that once again, the middle seat was free... in fact, the flight was quite empty. Interesting seats though. Never seen anything like them before. No entertainment, no padding, just black leather and a seat belt! All good though, and as I was so shattered, I actually slept for a couple of hours.

P.S. My extra shows my favourite part of what we left behind. It was a very intense week, but we got there in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.