Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Pickerel weed

Though it's not a weed at all - it's rather an attractive plant, and growing exactly where it's supposed to be - beside our pond.

I've spent a good deal of time over the last couple of days ruminating over my IT wishes/needs.  I've noticed that over the last year or so, I'm using my phone for a lot of internet browsing - which has occasionally resulted in an inability to use it for its primary function due to having run the battery down!

Originally when I thought about buying a tablet, I thought about getting one that I could use instead of a laptop.  Last time I bought a laptop (which was totally unthoughtout purchase) I bought a little baby one.  Even so, it is much too heavy for the sort of casual browsing for which I use my phone these days.  And a noticeable weight in my bag when travelling.

So I've decided I want a tablet that is small enough to hold when I lie in bed and browse.  And small enough to go in my bag and not really be noticeable.  This size of tablet will not really be able to function as a proper laptop.  But it will be big enough to use to blip. 

Maybe I don't even need a laptop (radical thought, but I do expect to retire in the next couple of years), but if I decide I do, next time I need to buy a laptop, I'll get a bigger one - and I may even consider dispensing with my desktop.  Though I've become very fond of my 2 screens, I wouldn't want to lose that function.

The final result was the purchase of a Galaxy S2 8 inch tablet this afternoon.  Now just waiting for it to arrive.  I avoided using "Mr Tax Dodger", but I have ordered it online and since delivery was free, I didn't bother with the "click and collect" option.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.