The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Just Look Up!

I have often joked with people that there are only a few ways to see the horizon of Manhattan. Travel to Brooklyn or Queens and look west. Travel to the Jersey City shoreline and look east. Catch a plane out with a window seat. Travel to the top of the Rock or the ESB. Or simply stand in any street of Manhattan and just look up.

This image may be a bit spatially disorienting at first and, if you find it as such, I apologize. It is an image of Park Avenue Plaza that is located between Park Avenue and Madison Avenue and 52nd and 53rd Street. Built in the early 1980s, this Skidmore designed prism like building features three interior right angles where the light and reflections seem to change constantly throughout the progression of the day. This blip is shot straight up the exterior of one of the angles on the north side of the building. The reflections of the buildings to the right and left of the image are reflected again in the receding lines in the middle. I have always been fascinated with this building because the designers did a masterful job of manipulating reflected light. To get an exterior perspective of the building please click HERE.

As it turns out, this on the run (and only) blipped image turned out to be a good metaphor for my day. It was a day of trying to make sense of many challenges thrown my way and trying to bring them together at the day's end. The day played out to my satisfaction and, for that, I am thankful. I am even more thankful to be home now with my family.

Thanks for you wonderfulness on my blips of yesterday. I have been unable to spend the time here that I desire to spend but I am trying to keep my priorities in order. Priorities do not always follow wants :)

Please have an amazing warm-up day that will carry you into an exciting weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.