Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Early Morning

I was already awake, up, and getting ready to make my exit for the campus when I happened to get a quick glance outside and realized that I was missing a spectacular morning. So I mentally downshifted, put on the brakes, and walked over to my nightstand when my camera was, picked it up and headed out the slider door on the upstairs deck. I may have missed some beautiful colors on those clouds, but at least I did not miss this scene altogether.

This day was full and busy. In the classroom from 8:15-12:30, I hoped to convince students that being prepared for their first quiz, which will be presented to them next week, would be a very worthwhile endeavor. They also have a major writing project due next week. So some of them who have been slacking will probably get caught next week wondering what happened! When next week concludes, one-third of the semester will be finished.

After class I attended the once a month Technology Committee meeting. In order for the college to keep their accreditation, every detail of our institution must be tracked and recorded. So our committee is busy updating goals, objectives, and its mission statement, and sometimes it's a little overwhelming. It can also be very informative.

After the meeting I spent some time cleaning my office -- discarding paperwork and packed a box with old textbooks to donate to a friends of the library store. Probably the worst part of today was getting into my car to head for home. My car was blazing from today's high temperature, which I think reached 97 degrees. It has been hot here since August 1. Some autumn chill would be a pleasant welcome.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.