Welcome to Oxenhope station

We did one of 'The Railway Children' walks today which is a very pleasant meander from Haworth to Oxenhope alongside the tracks of the Keighley Worth Valley steam train line and then back again over 'the tops' to end up in the Bronte Parsonage Museum graveyard.
Stopped off for a bacon butty at Oxenhope Station where we sat and watched the steam trains come and go, with the greeting of the very fine playing of BD1 Brass Band.
Was so taken with this young girl's solo... Airedaleknitter (who plays in the band) told me what tune it was but I can't remember the name... but I do remember it was so very beautiful... and she is only 11! 
The conductor of the band prompted a discussion amongst ourselves about what a conductor does.  I know they do a lot... but I'm not really sure what!  Looking back at my pics I was fascinated to see his hands in so many positions however... and I guess they all have a meaning - maybe someone knows what his hands are directing here? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.