The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Dinosaurs ... On A Spaceship!

Okay we are not on a spaceship, but I challenge you not to declare that these are real dinosaurs!

A whole day spent by the pool today ... that's what holidays are for.

The whole wall behind the pool is alive with hundreds of lizards. Now I could have stuck the 70mm lens on and stepped back and go some nice shots of them, but where is the challenge in that. I wanted lizard eye views of them. So the 30mm lens went on, and a placed the camera on the wall and waited for the lizards to come to me. It took them a while to get used to the invader in their thoroughfare, but after about 20 minutes not only was getting all the shots I wanted, they were actually crawling over me and the camera!
It was hot today, the mid afternoon sun got to the point where we were about to retreat to the room, when the cloud bubbled up and we were able to stay out there until 5pm.

The next big decision of the day was to choose where to go to eat. Tonight we went to The Summertime. Somewhere I hadn't been too since I first came to Madeira ten years go. It was the best place for the steak kebab, or steak on a skewer, which is a Portuguese speciality. Whilst eating we were treated to an aerial dogfight between three Peregrine Falcons and a load of Swifts, off in the distance a Buzzard was circling on a thermal, and above us wave after wave of Black Backed Gulls both greater and lesser wafted over with gentle flaps of their wings ... not a bad way to spend a Thursday night.

More Lizard photos are in my Madeira Flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.