Full of himself

I've spent most of the day in bed and it was the best place for me.

I heard the cat door and a muffled meow, and by the time I was upright the pope with a bird was in my doorway. He re-thought his plans and ducked under the spare bed. I coaxed and called hoping I could draw him into the open, and then jettison both outside. It worked but by then I felt dizzy and in need of a lie down.

Later when the sun had moves from my room I lay in the lounge not really sure what to do with my sorry self. I was joined by the pope in high spirits keen to show me his speed and ability to pounce. He's full of himself.

For the record he is neutered, micro-chipped, and is kept inside at night. I'd happily register him if legally required. In his short life he's caught more birds than his predecessor Wilson. Local farmers won't miss the finches which strip grain and sowed seeds. I'd like to think that the collars with bells I've ordered for him will slow his success rate.

Today's gratitude: To be able to lie in my bed in the sun and rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.