Here endeth the lesson...

As I climbed up the steps in Dunbar Harbour to the upper sea wall I thought that this would probably be my last visit to the gull family that I have been following, as the chicks are now juveniles and likely to leave the nest any time soon. When I first arrived there was just one of the young birds left on the nest with its mother and I assumed that the other juvenile had left. After a while the mother flew off leaving the chick to its own devices. Much to my surprise the juvenile also took off but only did a short circuiting before returning to the nest. Still it can fly and has earned its wings. A quarter of an hour later the other young bird flew in. I was able to take a sequence of the siblings as the larger one, which I assume is male, arrived and the final shot is of the two birds with their mother. I don't imagine if I go back next week they will still be there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.