Canal.

A day spent cycling along the Union Canal. This is the Leamington Lift Bridge. Wiki link. I don't think I've seen it in use before. 

We cycled from the canal basin at Fountain bridge out to the Almonvale Country park where we ate our sandwiches. There was a discussion about our return route and we opted for an overgrown path back to the canal path. At the exit to the park there were a couple of boys with their bikes. One was sitting cross legged on the grass with his head in his hands. So we stopped to ask if he was OK. He didn't reply. His friend volunteered that he had lost his phone. I wondered which aspect of the loss was heaviest. The contact with friends, the financial cost, or the adult reaction at home. 

Not being able to help we headed down between the nettles and gorse and wild flowers. At the foot of a set of steps the path was washed out and I braked too suddenly, the back wheel of my bike slid off the path and tipped me into the undergrowth. I heard and felt a tendon in my overstretched leg pop and lay in the rosebaywillow herb puffing and swearing until my friend came and disentangled my bike so I could stand up. 

We all made it home safe, but I now have a sore bit that makes sitting quite uncomfortable. I have a feeling that I will be taking paracetamol for the next couple of days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.