A bit of a rarity these days.

At least it is in our garden, with  the 2nd of the 3 Buddlejas now in flower; I don't think I've seen enough for one hand to count them on. 

"The Small Tortoiseshell has endured a tumultuous recent history. The butterfly, whose population has plummeted by 73% since the 1970s, had seen its numbers rise over the last few years and hopes were high that it was on the path to recovery.
But this summer’s poor showing could mean the Small Tortoiseshell is set for yet more years of decline."

NOT that I'm qualified to say which size it is. 
and then ....

"One is the increasing presence of a particular parasitic fly, Sturmia bella, due to global warming - this species being common on the continent. The fly lays its eggs on leaves of the foodplant, close to where larvae are feeding. The tiny eggs are then eaten whole by the larvae and the grubs that emerge feed on the insides of their host, avoiding the vital organs. A fly grub eventually kills its host and emerges from either the fully-grown larva or pupa before itself pupating."

I had intended to make the extra today's Blip but of the last two I've seen in the garden the first looked as old as I felt and emphatically none photogenic.

My justification for the extra is that, like the rest of us, even a Streptocarpus is improved by a hair-cut?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.