Rutter Falls.

We didn't have a "Bucket List" as such, but this was quite high on our "One day soon" list.
We saw it in a Holiday Let place in Penrith. I have no idea now how I found out what it/they was/were called, but somehow I did and had also discovered they weren't too distant.
Unfortunately, by then the weather was getting a bit wintery so it was never "Thursdayed".
Derwent Lass shot them a couple of days ago, but NOT in a Canoe.
Today I was threatened with another Steam train hunt. By Sodde's Law my "Big un" was poorly, I couldn't find my Poiny-shooty so was left with Alice's which I am miles from fully mastering.
Result:-
The train came hurtling round the bend at barely sub-light speed, while the camera was "off", resulting in it being past, under the bridge and AWAaaaaay before it was "ON".

The compensation prize was the fact that Rutter Falls/Force was almost en route home with very little detour.
One or two may be aware of my periodic grunts about the likes of 
Lake Winderlake and Lake Conistonlake.
As a loose generalisation Rutter was referred to, almost exclusively, online as Rutter Falls; however I did find one example of 
"Rutter Falls waterfall" and one "Rutter Force Waterfall"
Explanation of said grumble...
 
Force” is a Norse word meaning waterfall. On Ullswater's western slopes is a series of waterfalls, Aira Force, enclosed by precipitous rock walls."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.