wrperry

By wrperry

Sunflower Bonus

Mckee-Beshers Wildlife Management Area is a Maryland gem located about 30 minutes from home.  Osuzanna and I regularly visit to photograph the insects and birds.  For two weeks in July it offers a special treat - sunflower fields planted to attract game birds.  They also draw tourists and photographers.  I took hundreds of shots of the flowers, then decided to look for opportunities to include bees, butterflies and birds.  A fellow photographer stopped to inform me that Indigo Buntings were around.  She  pointed out their song, and said that they often stay low to the ground in the field, but eventually will pop up to the flowers.  Sure enough, after scurrying around after this one, he perched on the top of the flower, just a few feet away.  I was soooo happy that for once I had my settings right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.