Dream House

Oh my goodness me! Friends are living in a dream home! France Dweller and I paid them a visit as I had been meaning to see where they were living for months and she had 3 boxes of wine to give them as payment for work on her house which she is renting out. There is a very tragic story behind why they are living in the dream house. The owners died of cancer in the same year, and her parents died just before them. Their twenty something son was left without family and went travelling - so my friends are housesitting indefinitely! 
It has everything! beautiful secluded location with views, land, sheep ( Hilary and Africa!)and beehives - both sheep and bees belong to others and like my friends are just living here for the moment! The house has climbing roses round the back porch and steps going up to the house, with white agapanthus growing prolifically against the walls. There has an old glass Greenhouse and there was washing on the line! The house is spacious but not over large - well large enough by anyones standards! The furniture now  belongs to the son and the paintings and ornaments are a mixture of friends and son. Both sons parents and my friends have such good taste and interesting things! The sun pours in the front windows and illuminates chairs and ornaments. Both France dweller and I just exclaimed and turned a deep shade of green! We sat outside and had tea and cake - well I did intermittently as just had to photograph so much! 
I did have an interesting chat to the wife of friend - resonating with The Book of Silence I am reading. It seems the menopausal women I know, and myself, have a yen to withdraw from everything and live lives of silence. Not becoming hermits, but taking pleasure in their own company and space, pursuing their own solitary interests. Indicative that life is just becoming sad and stressful in so many places, with people attaching significance to insignificant, dare I say material and trivial things!  We are bombarded by so much via the internet and social sites, sometimes it is tempting to just sign off and tune out! 
Anyway - back to the dream house!!! I am welcome to go back anytime and since I only scratched the surface, with even more to discover in the outhouses and garden and house itself, I intend to! 
We headed back to mine and had a gin and tonic and I cooked for us both - ahh, no place like home, except for when you know there is a dream house up the road!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.