Back To The country!

Can you believe the size of the blackberries already!  Considering the lack of rain can't believe how fat and juicy they are!Harvested these off the hens plot after doing a mammoth watering session! Very pleased with the marigolds I grew from seed and as you can see from the extra, gladiolus still been picked along with the raspberries, beans and sweetpeas! I remembered I had the red Kurt pumpkin curing in the sun so got that and added it to the "still life". camera would not take a photo - said not enough light! Well I tried changing all the settings thinking I had inadvertently altered something but no! By this point I was feeling very hot and bothered so gave up and headed home, worrying about not having a camera for Port Eliot this sat and the fact Vegan Jo's daughter still had my old camera I'd lent her months ago for her New York trip. then I thought about how I could get a new camera body - that excited me!
back home I took the lens off and set it and the body in the cool. A little later I tried it again and it worked - I was obviously not the only thing that was feeling the heat! I'm not sure whether I was relieved or disappointed that I could not justify a camera update!
Come the evening I started to make Bramble Jelly. France dweller arrived about 10 after a day at the beach and we got into a heated discussion about a mutual friend that I had not heard from since last year. I had already told her my upset and recognition she was not a true friend, apparently she had spoken to her about me. I sense maybe a guilty conscience but it cuts no ice with me! vegan Jo had spoken in the past how certain people asked after me and instead of being pleased it did infuriate me - what use was their concern if it was not directed to me in person in some way? To me it's another example of the superficiality of the social scene in Calstock - it should not be mistaken for true friendship. France Dweller said she hoped she never did anything to piss me off as I was most scary in my response to this enquiry! I was in full on rant mode - another sign I am better!!! I love France Dweller as she will confront me on my views and she makes me consider whether I am being unjust or bigoted or misled - but on this case I think she did see my point - I certainly expounded it fully and vehemently! I will concede I was a little extreme but fundamentally I know what I consider being friend means. France Dweller said maybe my expectations are too high, but for me it is common decency and consideration, and if these things are not met at the very least I simply see it as a mismatch in expectations and the fact not everyone is going to have the same level of friendship and why should they, not everyone is going to have an affinity with everyone! But don't then masquerade concern to others about me and expect me to accept this as evidence of them caring about me as a friend, misconstruing enquiry as friendship! Enough said! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.