The Last Ride

Saturday is always a hard day.  It starts with packing up camp.  It is a lot of work, and seems to take three times as long as setting up camp does.  We like to get all packed up before hitting the river for one last time.  It's good to relax knowing it will be easy to head home when everyone is done swimming.  Sugar enjoyed one more spin on the paddle board.  She is so good at things like this.  

There were some other little girls across the river, and they seemed to be trying to get the attention of our girls, so they headed over to hang out.  They spent most of the afternoon together.  Lovely to make new friends.  
I had such a successful camp trip, myself.  I read 5 books in 8 days.  That might be a record for me.  Topaz did great...and grew so much.  

It was sad to hit the road home, and I was a bit anxious that I'd have tire trouble, but the drive was uneventful, and we were happy to meet The Hubby at the shop to get everything put away.  

When we finally arrived home, I was anxious to see how Toby cat had faired.  Sadly.....The Hubby had to inform me that Toby had not been doing well when he arrive home on Monday......he wouldn't eat (hadn't been eating well for awhile), and wouldn't even come into the house.  The Hubby made the decision that it was time.  oh dear.....I do not blame him...but I will miss my Toby cat forever.  He was just shy of 17 years old, and we had been together all along.  I wish I had said a proper goodbye.  So many tears.........and my heart hurt so much.  Sugar held up well, as we both knew it was coming.  He health had declined rapidly in the last month.  RIP Tobias Newton!  Much love to you!

PS.  backblipping, so please check out my other blips from this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.